Madden, David

Personal Information

  • Born in 1933

Here are some other books by the author:
The Beautiful Greed, Random House, 1961
Hair of the Dog, Adam, 1968
Cassandra Singing, Crown, 1969
The Shadow Knows, LSU Press, 1970
Brothers in Confidence, Avon, 1972
Bijou, Crown, 1974
The Suicide’s Wife, Bobbs-Merrill, 1978
Pleasure-Dome, Bobbs-Merrill, 1979
On the Big Wind, Holt, 1980
The New Orleans of Possibilities, LSU Press, 1982
Sharpshooter, University of Tennessee Press, 1996
Touching the Web of Southern Novelists, University of Tennessee Press, 2006
Abducted by Circumstance, University of Tennessee Press, 2010
London Bridge in Plague and Fire, University of Tennessee Press, 2012
The Last Bizarre Tale, University of Tennessee Press, 2014
Wright Morris, Twayne, 1964
Proletarian Writers of the Thirties, Southern Illinois University Press, 1968, Editor
Tough Guy Writers of the Thirties, Southern Illinois University Press, 1968, Editor
American Dreams, American Nightmares, Southern Illinois University Press, 1970, Editor
James M. Cain, Twayne, 1970
The Popular Culture Explosion, William C. Brown Publishers, 1972, et al.
Nathanael West, Edward/Edwards Press, 1973, Editor
Contemporary Literary Scene, Salem Press, 1974, Editor
Creative Choices, Scott, Foresman, 1975
Harlequin’s Stick, Charlie’s Cane, Popular Culture Press, 1975
Studies in the Short Story, Holt, Rinehart, and Winston, 1976
A Primer of the Novel, Scarecrow Press, 1980
Rediscoveries II, Carroll and Graf, 1988, Editor
Eight Classic American Novels, Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1990
The World of Fiction, Holt, Rinehart, and Winston, 1990
Classics of Civil War Fiction, University Press of Mississippi, 1991, Editor
A Pocketful of Prose: Contemporary, Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1992, Editor
A Pocketful of Prose: Vintage Short Fiction, Volumes I & II, Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1992 & 1996, Editor
A Pocketful of Poems: Vintage Verse, Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1996, Editor
A Pocketful of Plays: Vintage Drama, Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1996, Editor
Beyond the Battlefield, Simon and Schuster, 2000, Editor
The Legacy of Robert Penn Warren, LSU Press, 2000, Editor
A Pocketful of Essays, Volumes I & II, 2001
Thomas Wolfe’s Civil War, University of Alabama Press, 2004, Editor
Losses and Survivors of the Sultana, UT Press, 2005, Editor
The Tangled Web of the Civil War and Reconstruction, Rowman & Littlefield, 2015
Theatrical Production Fiction
In The Summer They Slaughter Cattle, 1947
Call Herman In To Summer, 1949
The Great Wings Still Beating, 1950
Medea, 1954
The Idealists, 1955
From Rome To Damascus, 1956
They Shall Endure, 1959
The Freeway, 1960
The Deep Sleep, 1960
Fugitive Masks, 1964
The Day the Flowers Came, 1970
Cassandra Singing, 1980

N.C. Locations Associated with Madden, David

Resided in:
Black Mountain (City/Town)
Boone (City/Town)
Taught at:
Appalachian State University